DGL 2017: The Frequently Asked Questions

A lot of both new and old players in the Telkom DGL have been somewhat overwhelmed by all the information thrown at them over the past few weeks, as the 2017 DGL Calendar can be a lot to  take in at first glance.

With that in mind, here is a recap of how the DGL works in 2017, some of the common questions being thrown around, and how you can best utilise your team to achieve success in the Telkom DGL.

The Games:

The Telkom DGL offers a variety of leagues that will run over the course of 2017, offering you the chance to battle your way through the various Divisions in the hope to make it to the Premier Division.

The Leagues offered by the Telkom DGL in 2017 are as follows:

What about games not on this list?

Even if the Telkom DGL does not offer your particular game you (and the community) can create and host your own community cups for that game at any time. Click here for a full guide on how to create and manage cups.

My game doesn’t exist on the DGL website. Can I get it added so I can create cups for it?

Yes you can, provided it is a competitive title of some sort. Simply submit a ticket to the DGL Admins and they will be able to help you.

The DGL Masters:

The Telkom DGL Masters sees 10 of South Africa’s top MGO’s fight it out for the largest prize pool in South African Esports, with over 1.2 million Rand in cash being on offer in the 2016 season.

What games have Masters Leagues?

Currently, just the Dota 2 and the Counter-Strike: Global offensive leagues have a Masters Division attached to them.

Is the Masters Open to Anyone?

Unfortunately no, the Telkom DGL has already announced the 10 MGO’s that will be participating in this year’s Masters.

What Teams are participating in the 2017 Masters?

You can click here to find out about all 10 Masters teams.

So there’s no ways to participate in the Masters Events if you’re not in Masters?

Although this was previously true, the DGL has mixed things up in 2017 thanks to the introduction of the DGL Proving Grounds and Community Shield Cups, which allows non-Masters teams to potentially get a spot at the big time. More information further on.

DGL Leagues:

For everyone else in the Telkom DGL, the league has a similar structure to that of previous years, except with the addition of their own sets of DGL Proving Grounds and Community Shield Cups whereby teams can gain an early qualification to the DGL Championships later this year.

How do I register myself  for the Telkom DGL?

There is a full step-by-step guide on how to register for the Telkom DGL here.

How do I register my team for the Telkom DGL?

Another step-by-step guide can be followed by clicking here.

How Many Legs are there?

For all normal leagues there are four Legs that will run through 2016.

How long does each Leg run?

Each Leg of the Telkom DGL runs for four weeks, and if you are in one of the Divisions, will require you to play at least one match per week during the course of the Leg.

What are the dates of the various Legs?

Take a look at this infographic for a nice summary and the starting dates of each Leg:

A full schedule can be found here.

When does it all start?

It all starts today, 23 January!

Does that mean I cannot enter the DGL anymore?

Not at all! All teams start out on the ladder, which runs all year round, although some dates can affect the ladder when it comes to promotion and demotion at the end of each Leg.

How does the Ladder Work?

There is a full write-up on how the system works and how to make use of it here. There is also a FAQ if you are struggling to get started.

How do I find the rules for my League?

To find the rule set for your game, simply go to the Leagues page on the DGL Website (or click here) and click on the dropdown “Rules” in your specific title box to find all the rules and regulations you need.

DGL Cups:

As mentioned, the Telkom DGL now has the Proving Grounds and Community Shield cups that offer players the chance to qualify directly for DGC or the chance to take part in the Telkom DGL Masters Championship (depending on your league).

Are Legs and Cups the same thing?

Not at all, and you can take part in both (since they are often run concurrently )! However, if you do, make sure to schedule well, as it can often result in an extremely busy playing schedule should you choose to commit.

How many Cups are there?

The DGL Proving Grounds, like the legs, will have four separate coloured cups; Emerald, Ruby, Sapphire and Amber, containing two qualifying cups in each colour, the “Genesis” and “Do-or-Die” Proving Grounds.

So How Does it Work?

Should you enter one of the cups and reach the top eight, you will be promoted to that colour’s Showdown Cup. The top two teams from the showdown go through to the Community Shield Cup.

What is the Community Shield?

The Community Shield sees the winner’s of the various Showdowns fighting it out to either qualify directly for the DGC or make it to the DGL Masters event. A full breakdown can be seen in the various info graphics here.

How we do enter the Proving Ground Cups?

The Proving Ground Cups can all be found on the Tournaments Page.

When is the next cup?

Entries for the Emerald Genesis Proving Ground Cup closes tomorrow, 24 January!

I won’t be able to enter in time! What do I do?

Don’t worry, the next set of Proving Ground Cups, Sapphire, is set to start on 20 February, so you only have to wait a few weeks.

A How-To on how to qualify for the Masters can be found here.

A How-To on how to qualify for the Telkom DGL Championship can be found here.

Do you have a question that wasn’t answered here? Submit a ticket on the Digital Gaming League website or take a browse through the numerous guides and FAQ’s on offer on the Digital Gaming League Knowledgebase.

Be sure to follow Telkom Gaming on Facebook or Twitter for all the 2017 DGL news and updates.